Asia prepares to host two 3x3 basketball qualifiers for Paris 2024

Asia prepares to host two 3x3 basketball qualifiers for Paris 2024

Hong Kong, China, March 25, 2024: Asia is gearing up to host two of the three qualifying tournaments for the 3x3 basketball tournament at the Paris Olympic Games this summer.

Hong Kong, China will host the first FIBA Universality OQT from April 12-14, followed by Utsunomiya, Japan from May 3-5. The third and last OQT will be in Debrecen, Hungary from May 16-19.

The President of the Sports Federation and Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China, Mr. Timothy Fok, said it was a great honour to be hosting the 3x3 OQT for men and women in Hong Kong.

“Hong Kong has been granted the honour of hosting the 3x3 basketball qualifying tournament,” the SF&OC President wrote in the latest edition of the SF&OC’s official magazine, Olympic Voice of Hong Kong.

“Scheduled for April 2024, the qualifying tournament will attract talented 3x3 basketball teams from around the world, all vying for the chance to represent their countries or regions at the Paris Olympics.

“This will undoubtedly leave a lasting impact on sports development,” added President Fok.

Hong Kong, China has been one of the hosts of the FIBA 3x3 World Tour since 2022, achieving remarkable success on and off the court. Their creative approach has consistently brought exciting new initiatives to the event. The vibrant atmosphere and strong fan engagement showcased Hong Kong's ability to create a thrilling sports spectacle.

A total of 64 teams will participate in the three FIBA 3x3 Olympic Qualifying Tournaments, which will determine the last five spots per gender for 3x3's second appearance at the Olympics. 

Serbia, USA and China have already qualified for the men's, while China, USA and France have earned slots in the women's. 

Hong Kong


Pool A: Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland, Hong Kong

Pool B: Mongolia, Latvia, Egypt, New Zealand 


Pool A: Hungary, Poland, Egypt, Hong Kong

Pool B: Netherlands, Azerbaijan, Mongolia, Chile 



Pool A: Lithuania, Latvia, Puerto Rico, Brazil

Pool B: France, Mongolia, Japan, Egypt


Pool A: Germany, Japan, Austria, Brazil

Pool B: Canada, Netherlands, Australia, Kenya



Pool A: Lithuania, Switzerland, Germany, Madagascar

Pool B: Netherlands, Austria, Puerto Rico, Hungary

Pool C: France, Latvia, Canada, Egypt

Pool D: Mongolia, Belgium, Japan, Poland


Pool A: Germany, Azerbaijan, Poland, Tunisia

Pool B: Canada, Lithuania, Czechia, Chile

Pool C: Spain, Japan, Egypt, Mongolia

Pool D: Hungary, Netherlands, Italy, Israel